We are proud to announce our 2018-19 scholarship recipient: Daphne Bigelow!

Above: the OU Club of Chicago Board of Directors award Daphne with her $5,000 scholarship to OU

This year’s scholarship winner was Daphne Bigelow, an incoming Freshman at the University of Oklahoma. She graduated from Nazareth Academy High School in La Grange Park, IL as a National Honor Society student with a 4.39 GPA. Daphne was on the golf and equestrian team and served as senior class captain of service and philanthropic work; she plans to join OU’s equestrian team this year. Daphne has a strong passion for the Italian language and will be entering OU pre-law, double majoring in Classics & Letters and Italian Language. She plans on taking advantage of OU’s Arezzo study abroad program spending a semester in Italy. Daphne is striving to become an attorney in international law and advocacy.

When asked how Daphne chose OU, she said, “I recognized instantly upon meeting and speaking with numerous OU professors, staff and co-eds that the family waiting for me was in Oklahoma. I am proud to call myself a Sooner, and I hope to contribute equally as much to OU, as I expect to receive in return.”

We are thrilled for Daphne to begin her journey at OU, and we cannot wait to see all the wonderful things she achieves.

“So far, my transitioning journey from high school to college has been nothing short or extraordinary! The Sooner family immediately opened its arms to me, and I’ve never felt happier. The strong network and support of OU Alumni spoke volumes about the instituion you fell in love with. Through the OU club of Chicago, I know my 4 years on campus are just the beginning. The scholarship dollars will help me cover my academic debts, while also helping my budget cover my love for joining the OUET and international studies.” – Daphne Bigelow

Previous Recipients:
2017-18: Clare Hillshafer
2016-17: Gregory Jennrich

If you are from the Chicagoland area, will be a student at OU during the 2019-20 school year, and are interested in applying for our scholarship, contact us at ouclubofchicago@gmail.com

There hasn't been any news yet. Check back soon.